Welcome friends and Brethren, to the official website of Berwyn Lodge No. 839 AF and AM*, located in Berwyn, Illinois. On this site you can find a wealth of information about our lodge, including information on upcoming events, Masonic news, photos, and updates on lodge activity. Use the navigation links at the top of this page to explore different sections of our site. A good place to start is by clicking on our Trestle Board, there you’ll find the latest news and updates. You can also get additional information about Freemasonry from The Most Worshipful Grand Lodge AF and AM of the State of Illinois website. We will be updating our site on a regular basis, so check back often and thank you for visiting!

Berwyn Lodge officers 2021-2022

The 127th annual installation of officers (and first outdoor installation we are aware of) was held on July 10, 2021 at 41st St. & Ridgeland Ave., Stickney, Illinois. The following are the officers elected and appointed for Berwyn Lodge #839 for this Masonic year:

Worshipful Master Gabriel Bankole
Senior Warden Ren Vincent Escalera
Junior Warden Brigido Tan
Treasurer WB Antonio Castro
Secretary WB Luisito P. Fanlo
Chaplain Jack Franta
Senior Deacon D’Andre Sanders
Junior Deacon Brandon King
Senior Steward Denzel Vaden
Junior Steward Alex Dapat
Marshal Dennis Harold
Tyler WB Gregory B. Capps

No Berwyn Lodge meetings through May 1, 2020

Pursuant to the Most Worshipful Grand Master’s edict, no masonic lodge meetings or events will be held until at least May 1, 2020. We wish everyone health and safety in the interim.

Berwyn Lodge hosts 9th NE District Meeting

Berwyn Lodge, under Worshipful Master Arturo Hernandez, hosted the meeting of the 9th NE District of AF&AM of Illinois on February 11, 2020.

2018-2019 Officers

Berwyn Lodge #839 held its 124th annual installation of officers on July 14, 2018. The new officers are:

Worshipful Master Chris VanderKuyl
Senior Warden Arturo Hernandez
Junior Warden Oscar Torres Leon
Treasurer WB Antonio Castro
Secretary WB Luisito Fanlo
Chaplain Jack Franta
Senior Deacon Gabriel Bankole
Junior Deacon Ren Escalera
Senior Steward Benjamin Gray
Junior Steward Ramiro Arrez
Marshal WB Jose Villarreal
Tyler  WB Gregory Capps
Organist WB Alan Schwartz

Installing officers included WB Alan Schwartz, WB Alejandro Cabral, WB Kenmond Eng, RWB Reuben Owens, RWB Robert Mikulecky, and RWB Herbert Lindberg. St. Elmo Commandery #64 Knights Templar provided an escort, Dean Papadogianis of the Order of Demolay performed the Ceremony of Light, and WB Lance J Welter, Commander-In-Chief of Oriental Consistory of the Valley of Chicago AASR made a presentation.


2017-2018 Officers

Berwyn Lodge #839 installed officers on July 22, 2017, with WB Juan Merced, Jr advancing to the East. Here is a copy of the program. And photos:

Masonic Festival of Art – Feb 25 1-4pm


Salute to Hospitalized Veterans

Berwyn Lodge members participated in the Mont Clare York Rite “Salute to Hospitalized Veterans” steak fry at Jesse Brown VA Medical Center in October 2016.

2016-2017 Elected Officers

Congratulations to the newly-elected officers for 2016-2017:

  • Carlos Lopez, WM-elect
  • Juan Merced, Jr., SW-elect
  • Christopher Vanderkuyl, JW-elect
  • W.B. Antonio Castro, Treasurer
  • W.B. Luisito Fanlo, Secretary

Information about appointive officers and the installation date will appear here and on the lodge calendar when available.

Installation 2015

The 2015 Installation of Officers was held on Tuesday July 21 at 6pm.

2015 Installation

Installing officers were WB Alan Schwartz (IM), WB Kenmond Eng (SD and IM for installation of Organist), WB Henrik Schrader (SE), RWB Rueben Owens (MA), RWB Bob Mikulecky (CH), and WB Dante Castillo (Paul Revere Charges).

Berwyn’s installed officers were:
WM Alejandro Cabral, PM
SW Carlos Lopez
JW Juan Merced, Jr.
TR Antonio Castro, PM
SE Luisito Fanlo, PM
CH Kenmond Eng, PM
SD Chris Vanderkuyl
JD Arturo Hernandez
SS Thomas Stechmiller
JW John Zignich
TY Gregory Capps, PM
OR Alan Schwartz, PM

Annual meeting 2015

Berwyn Lodge held its annual meeting and election of officers in June 2015. Officers elected for the next Masonic year are:

WM-elect: W.B. Alejandro Cabral
SW-elect: Carlos Lopez, Jr.
JW-elect: Juan Merced
TR-elect: W.B. Antonio Castro
SE-select: W.B. Luisito Fanlo